Girl About Town / ON THE RECORD

PR girl, blogger and contributor to HotelChatter; if anyone knows anything about London and what it offers in terms of venues, it’s Julia Pearson. We tracked the poor girl down to ask her a few Hg2 interview questions.
Check out Julia’s blog at LondOnTheInside

Name? Julia Pearson.
Are you a hedonist? You could say that – I am a strong believer of the two sayings, ‘you only live once’ and ‘live every moment like it’s your last’, so I try and find pleasure in everything I do.
Where are you from?
A small village in the North East called Guisborough, although I currently reside in London Town.
What do you do?
I work for The Massey Partnership, a luxury travel PR agency, edit the London lifestyle blog LondONtheInside and I am a Contributing Editor for HotelChatter.
As a contributor for HotelChatter.com, you’ve seen many hotels; what openings are you most excited about in the coming year?
In terms of hotels, London is where it’s at this year; our hotel scene is on fire! Last week I had a tour of The Zetter Townhouse as it’s one of my clients and I can’t wait to see the finished project – every little detail has been though out and every inch of the hotel is filled with curiosities. I could have spent all day there exploring! And being a spa girl at heart I am tres excited about the five-star Corinthia hotel, which will have the biggest spa in London, a hairdresser, florist and bakery – the ultimate girly hotel, and it opens on 2nd April, which means I don’t have long to wait!
What details do you like to see at a hotel?
I like to see a busy bar and with someone impressive behind it serving up cocktails – The Savoy has its fair share of dishy ones! Nice products in the bathroom, bathrobes, a roll-top bath and a big comfy bed.
What are your pet peeves at a hotel?
Noise and heat – the only two things that keep me awake. I also hate extra large pillows and too much light in the room. If I stay at a hotel I want to be able to sleep whatever time I crawl into bed.
What’s been your most hedonistic stay yet?
I once spent four weeks travelling the coast of Goa, India, and that was pretty special. Just my boyfriend and I staying in small beach shacks and going for walks along deserted beaches – sometimes you could go a whole day without seeing another soul.
In London, what’s your favourite…

Hotel? That’s a tough one. There are so many great hotels in the city and each have their own unique features. I particularly like the Savoy because it has this amazing history behind it, you just can’t buy that – I mean, sleeping in the same room as Marilyn Monroe, what’s not to love?
Restaurant?
Over the last year I have eaten at some amazing restaurants, but my favourite is a toss-up between Bar Battu, which has an amazing wine menu and the pork is to-die-for, and Market in Camden, which does simple but effective food in a very neighbourhood environment. I’d also recommend Moti Mahal.
Bar?
The Hoxton Hotel – I am a real East End girl at heart and the bar there serves some of the best cocktails I’ve had in London. During the week when I pass the hotel I find it hard not to call in for a Lychee and Rose Bellini. For a more hedonistic visit I would recommend booking one of its chic budget hotel rooms – for the price there isn’t much better in the city. Other than that I like the local pubs in Dalston; The Shakespeare on Allen Road, The Haggerston on Kingsland Road and the Coach and Horses in Stoke Newington.
Club?
I don’t really do clubs, but if I do it is usually an underground club in Dalston like The Alibi. It reminds me of those super-fashionable basement clubs you find in New York.
Shop?
Liberty London – I absolutely love everything it sells! It’s modern but there is something old and glamorous about shopping there.
Cultural must-see?
The V&A Museum – I love its selection of wedding dresses, and I will steal one if I ever get hitched.
Architectural landmark?
St. Paul’s – it looks amazing from every angle.
Spa?
I love the new Chuan spa at the Langham and the fact that you don’t have to go into the hotel to get in to it.
If you weren’t living in London, what city would you be living in?
Tokyo, Japan (although, maybe not right now with everything that is going on). When I visited there I was blown away by the city and how different the culture was. The Japanese have natural style, and the clothes shops are amazing.
What’s next for you?
Who knows? At the moment things couldn’t be better – I have my dream job and things are going really well with LondOntheInside, so I’d like things to just carry on the way they’re going – getting better and better! I have a trip planned to Barcelona in May so I am really looking forward to that, plus I have just returned from a very hedonistic press trip to Bedruthan Steps where I was taught knitting by Erika Knight – aka, the most glamorous knitting teacher in the world. It’s amazing where you can find your pleasures. And that’s the thing – you should never take things for granted, that way even the little things feel special.

About Hg2 | A Hedonist's Guide To...

Hg2 | A Hedonist's Guide is a luxury city guide series coveted by travellers who value both style and substance when it comes to soaking up a city. Irreverent, inspired, and, above all, intelligent.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Palace Of Dreams / GUEST BLOGGER « Hg2Blog

Your thoughts?

