Seb Fontaine on the Rebirth of Westbourne Studios Club | Hg2 INSIDER

Trellick Tower, Portobello Road and Westbourne Studios are all iconic landmarks identified with West London. Built in 2002, Westbourne Studios was named “the most interesting internal space in London in the last decade” and drew like-minded creatives to work and play there. The Westbourne Studios Club recently relaunched under the direction of DJ and producer Seb Fontaine, who’s brought in emerging DJ talent, cutting edge cultural events and new club membership.

Hg2 caught up with Seb about the re-launch of the iconic nightlife spot and how he likes to travel.

Seb Fontaine Westbourne Studios Club

What was it that interested you in getting involved with the relaunch of the Westbourne Studios Club?

Well I am a fully fledged lover of all things West London. After meeting the team here I was so blown away by the space and the potential of Westbourne Studios that it was a no brainer really. It’s a special place and is truly a blank canvas that can host club nights, art shows and fashion events as well as our screening room that has proved really popular. I think that what I love most is that unlike your average club, when you walk in to one of our “nights”, it feels like an event or a party; it’s exciting.

Westbourne Studios Club London

What have you brought to the project and are you happy with how it’s turned out?

Sound was an issue, being such a huge room, but we have created a “room within a room” and with our new Funktion 1 system we are rocking. I have also booked some amazing nights incorporating fashion, art and film as well as some truly amazing DJs from around the world. This month, our Christmas show-down is Norman Jay and I playing on the 15th December for XXXMAS. It’s going to be amazing, Norman’s the reason I’m a DJ – we’re both local boys and played together back in the 90’s. We’ll also be seeing in the New Year with the Cadenza showcase, which is a masked party, so will get pretty wild…

Apart from London (and Westbourne Studios of course), where in the world are your favourite spots to party?

Buenos Aires is always there for me, I absolutely love it. The combination of South American culture and European architecture make it a beautiful place to be.

Westbourne Studios Club London Camera

Any favourite clubs that you love to play in particular?

Pacha and Liv in Buenos Aires. Amnesia and Pacha in Ibiza.

Is there anything that you’ll never go on a trip without?

I’m pretty lucky in that, when I go abroad, I always have wonderful people looking after me, so I get to see the cities at their best. I always pack light – I’m a bit of a travel tyrant and people generally hate travelling with me as I have so many systems to speed things up. Years of travelling have taken their toll.

About Hg2 | A Hedonist's Guide To...

Hg2 | A Hedonist's Guide is a luxury city guide series coveted by travellers who value both style and substance when it comes to soaking up a city. Irreverent, inspired, and, above all, intelligent.

Your thoughts?

